I’m 27, I Earn $108k & I’m Celebrating Something Monumental This Week

0
3
I’m 27, I Earn $108k & I’m Celebrating Something Monumental This Week


Occupation: Senior compliance analyst
Industry: Investment management
Age: 27
Location: Chicago, IL
Salary: $108,150, plus a 10% bonus and 15% company 401(k) contribution.
Assets: $3,819 checking and regular savings; $9,353 HYSA; $4,538 car savings in a Betterment cash fund; $35,841 in a Roth IRA; $100,598 across two 401(k)s; $5,674 across two HSAs; $2,000 in I Bonds; $37,096 in a medium-term taxable brokerage account; $16,224 in a long-term taxable brokerage account; ~$3,000 KBB car value for my old Subaru.
Debt: $0
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $2,729.33
Pronouns: She/her

Monthly Expenses
Monthly Housing Costs: $2,040 for a one-bedroom apartment, including gas, water, and trash.
Monthly Loan Payments: $0
All Other Monthly Expenses:
Car & Renter’s Insurance: $126 (I caused a fender bender two years ago.)
Electric: ~$45
Internet: $35
Parking: $150
Spotify: $10
Streaming Services: $0 (Between me and my family we get them all reimbursed through credit card perks/cell phone plans.)
Cell Phone: My parents pay.
Horse Joint Supplements: $48 (I own a horse a couple of hours away in my hometown, whom I’ve had since high school. He boards for free in exchange for doing kiddie lessons.)
Pet Health Insurance: $39
Solidcore: $99 (four classes/month)
Barre Studio Unlimited Membership: $150
Donations: $50
Roth 401(k): $902.26
HSA: $179.16 (pre-tax)
Insurance Premiums & Transit: $84.02 (pre-tax)
Long-term Taxable Brokerage: $330
Car Savings: $100
Roth IRA: $542.66
High Yield Savings: Anything leftover!
Quarterly Expenses:
Dog Daycare: $1,230 (This is approximately every three months — I buy a 30-day pack and use them until I need more. This isn’t at a super regular cadence as it depends on how much I travel, if she stays with my parents, how much I WFH, and so on).
Annual Expenses:
Copilot Money App: $69 (GET IT!)
America’s Test Kitchen: $74
Marco Polo Premium: $69
AMEX Fee: $695 (I more than made this up last year when I lived in California and flew a lot but may downgrade next year.)
Chase Sapphire: $95



Source link